34 Chelan athletes recognized

by Dennis Rahm

Chelan High School was well represented as all-league selections were made for the sports of soccer, volleyball, football and boys and girls cross country.

Soccer: Goats Head Coach Amaris Longmire was recognized for her outstanding efforts in leading the girls soccer program and has been named Coach of the Year. The team saw Junior Defender Joslynn Simmons, Junior Midfielder Arden Paglia and Sophomore Midfielder Maya Cowan all named first team. Second team selections went to Senior Keeper Aliyah Finch, Junior Midfielder Kenia Sanchez, Sophomore Defender Madi Barker and Sophomore Forward Jailyn Reinhart.

Volleyball: The Caribou Trail League Player of the Year in volleyball was awarded to Chelan Junior Olivia Strandberg. Other Goats named to the First Team were Seniors Morgyn Harrison and Ally Williams as well as Juniors Kira Sandoval and Juliana Perez. Second team honors were earned bym Junior Makenzie Griggs and Sophomore Josie Garfoot.

Football: Five Goats were selected to the league’s first team and five more were named to the second team. Senior Reed Stamps was named the top QB in the CTL. Others earning first team honors were Senior Running Back Ethan Kehl, Senior WR Quinn McLaren, Senior Linebacker Ethan Strandberg, and Junior Offensive Lineman Tate Sandoval. Selected second team all-league were Senior TE Charlie Bordner, Senior WR Gage Burdick, Junior Defensive Lineman Alonzo Benegas, Sophomore OL Ryan Rainville, and Sophomore DB Landon Johnson. Sophomore OL Dominick Solorza earned Honorable Mention.

Cross Country: The Boys and Girls Cross Country teams racked up a total of nine league awards. For the Boys, Junior Luke Simmons was named to the First Team. Sophomore Cray Silva and Freshman Tristan Sanderson were selected Second Team and Sophomore George Neff earned Honorable Mention. For the Girls, Teegan Silva earned First Team honors while Sophomore Catherine Martinez was named Second Team. Honorable Mentions were awarded to Seniors Beverly LaPierre and Zoe Pisson.

Congratulations to all athletes on an outstanding season.